How To: DIY Cork Board

DIY cork board.

A couple of weeks ago, I helped my mum sort through my brother’s (incredibly!) messy bedroom.  While tidying, I came across an old cork bulletin board and claimed it for myself.  It was a little boring, and the blue frame didn’t match anything in my flat, but it had potential.

before.

I revamped the old board by painting the frame a bright white and by adding stripes of the same colour.  I wasn’t sure if painting onto cork would work, but after a google search and finding this great post from The Happy Home I was reassured.

Here’s how I made it:

The frame had a plasticy finish, so I began by sanding down the frame so that the paint would stick to it.

sanded down.

I then measured the board and divided it up into sections to create the stripes.  I used masking tape to section off the bits that I wanted to remain cork coloured.

divided up into sections.

I then painted between the masking tape sections with bright white acrylic paint.  It took several coats of paint to properly cover up the cork.

stripes.

While the stripes were dying, I also added several coats of the same paint to the frame.  I toyed with painting the frame a different colour, but decided that I preferred the uniform colour scheme.

Once the paint was dry, I carefully peeled off the tape to reveal the stripes.  I found that the paint bled a little, but not obviously so.

bright white.

And ta-da.  All done!  Here is the finished result:

hanging on the wall.

close up.

7 thoughts on “How To: DIY Cork Board

  1. Pingback: Cute as a Button « a mess to be made

  2. I made one of these! I’m not sure if I like the frame the same color, but I can’t think of any way to change it! Great idea with the stripes though! Thanks! :)

    • Hope it worked out well :) I’ve now got mine hung on a colourful wall so I’m really glad it is all one plain colour. However, it would also look good with the frame a different colour from the stripes. You should post a pic of yours!

  3. Pingback: Bedroom Makeover 1: DIY Cork Mousemat | a mess to be made

  4. Pingback: Corchos decorados | Escarabajos, Bichos y Mariposas

Leave a Reply

