Rhubarb, Apple and Blueberry Crumble

I’m pretty sure anyone who has spent any amount of time with me knows that I have a weakness for desserts.  While I try to love my fruit and veg, my sweet tooth always wins in the end.  To me, this crumble is the best of both worlds – featuring lots of fresh fruit in the filling and a sweet, crunchy topping.

While I sort of made this up as I went along, I used this recipe from BBC Good Food as a guideline.  The recipe called for baking the topping separately which definitely made it extra crunchy.  Here’s what I ended up putting in mine:

Topping:

110 g plain flour

30 g rolled oats

85g butter at room temperature

Filling:

400g of fruit, chopped (I used rhubarb, apples and a handful of blueberries)

30g of soft light brown sugar

30g of butter

1/4 tsp of cinnamon

 

It was definitely a success as it was all demolished in one sitting (I didn’t eat it all myself, promise!).

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb, Apple and Blueberry Crumble

  1. Pingback: Patchwork Strawberry and Rhubarb Pie | a mess to be made

Leave a Reply

