How-to: DIY Cork Coasters

I’ve already shared my cork stamps, but what I haven’t yet posted is what I actually used them for.  I needed a set of coasters for my room and seeing as I had a sheet of cork to spare I figured that would be the perfect material to make them from.  After a failed attempt at creating stripes on the coaster shapes (if someone could tell me what I’m doing wrong that would be great), I decided to flip them over and decorate them with my stamps instead.  For a project that I was about to abandon, I think they turned out pretty well.  Here’s how you can make your own:

What you need:

  • A sheet of cork board
  • Something circular to draw around (I used an old drinks coaster)
  • A craft knife
  • A sheet of felt
  • Stamps and ink for decoration
  • PVA glue

How to:

1.  Draw around old coaster or something the right size/shape onto the cork board.

2.  Cut around the template with a craft knife (it was pretty difficult to create a perfect circle, but I like mine despite being imperfect).

3.  Get stamping!

4.  Cut a slightly smaller circle out of the felt and attach to the back using the PVA glue.

6 thoughts on “How-to: DIY Cork Coasters

  1. Pingback: Bedroom Makeover 1: DIY Cork Mousemat | a mess to be made

  2. Pingback: Creative and Cool: 21 Unique DIY Coasters Ideas |DIYManiac

  3. Pingback: Haz tus propios posavasos!! | mycutecorner

Leave a Reply

