Christmas Countdown 7: Candy Cane Truffles

title truffles

In case you were wondering what I did with the rest of the giant packet of candy canes, here’s what I used them for: white chocolate and candy cane truffles.

The original recipe is from Your Cup of Cake, but as it is my nature to meddle with things and ignore instructions, I made some changes, which I think turned out pretty well.

making trufflesI followed the original recipe for the most part, but instead of immediately rolling the truffles in the candy cane pieces, I chilled the centres and dipped them in an additional layer of white chocolate before sprinkling with the crushed pieces of candy cane.

rollingcollage

Once I ran out of the melted white chocolate I began to make the truffles as the original instructions suggested.  Although these look much more professional (they actually stayed round), I have to say I do prefer the ones dipped in chocolate.  I also think it might be a fun idea of experiment by dipping these centres in dark or milk chocolate as well.

IMG_1853

IMG_1865

IMG_1848

christmas countdown

2 thoughts on “Christmas Countdown 7: Candy Cane Truffles

  1. Yum!
    I made truffles for the first time this Christmas – just regular chocolate ones – but since they went well I like the idea of mixing things up a bit like you’ve done

Leave a Reply

