Patchwork Strawberry and Rhubarb Pie

patchworkpie

I may have lied just a little when I said I was back to blogging.  I’ve since turned in my final essay, so I will keep my promise from now on.  I’ve been trying to catch up with all the things I didn’t have time for when I was writing my dissertation, including baking, and thought I would give this recipe that I found in Good Food Magazine a try.

The recipe called for making the pastry from scratch, a step which I decided to skip, as I am much too lazy for that.  I also decided to switch the gooseberries for rhubarb because, as you might be able to tell from my Rhubarb, Apple and Blueberry Crumble, I’m a huge rhubarb fan.

summer fruit

Ingredients:

500g short crust pastry

500g strawberries (halved)

500g rhubarb (chopped to same size as strawberries)

100g golden caster sugar (and an extra tbsp for the top)

1 tsp cinnamon

2 tbsp of semolina

pastry

Recipe:

1.  Heat oven to 200c.

2.  Cook fruit and sugar in a pan for 5 minutes until syrupy.

3.  Once cooked, drain liquid from the fruit and put both aside.

4.  Roll out half of pastry to line and line the tin.  Prick base with fork.  Chill until firm and then line with tin foil and fill with baking beans.

5.  Bake for 15 minutes, then remove the foil and bake for another 10 minutes.

6.  Roll out the other half of the pastry and cut into squares.

7.  Scatter the semolina on the pastry base.

8.  Add the fruit to the base and top with 2 tbsp of the extra syrup.

9.  Arrange the squares of pastry over the top of the fruit.  Brush with an egg white.

10.  Mix cinnamon and the extra 1 tbsp of sugar and scatter half of the mixture over the top of the pie.

11.  Cover the crust with a collar of foil and bake for 30 minutes.

12.  Sprinkle over the rest of the sugar/cinnamon.

13.  Serve with the extra syrup and yoghurt or ice cream.

IMG_2639

IMG_2641

IMG_2694

5 thoughts on “Patchwork Strawberry and Rhubarb Pie

Leave a Reply

