DIY Galaxy Print Shoes

galaxy shoes

I have been dying to have a go at tie-dying with sharpies ever since I stumbled across this awesome tutorial for galaxy print shoes.  It took a bit of effort to track down rubbing alcohol (which I discovered is called surgical spirit in the UK – and they sell it in Superdrug), but this was so much fun it was worth all the confused looks I received when searching for it in the shops.  I found a super cheap pair of white canvas trainers and got to work.

galaxy shoes supplies

Time for Tea has a great step-by-step tutorial that is really straight forward to follow.  It basically involves drawing on the canvas shoes with the sharpies and dripping over the surgical spirit (open a window – this stuff makes you dizzy!).  It didn’t seem to matter that I made some mistakes getting the technique right, as any ugly bits can be covered up with the next layer.

IMG_2801

It is a good idea to start with the lighter colours and add the darker, brighter ones later.  It took about 6 layers to build up the colour, and you need to wait for the shoe to dry completely before adding subsequent layers.

IMG_2810

Once dark enough, I added white spaces and stars with acrylic paint.  I used the end of the brush to create most of the big stars, and a toothpick for the really small ones.

IMG_2549

I’m pretty much in love with these, but I haven’t worn them out yet as I’m afraid that the unpredictable Scottish weather will ruin them and I will end up with purple feet!

IMG_2564

IMG_2583

IMG_2565

3 thoughts on “DIY Galaxy Print Shoes

  1. Pingback: How to Tie Dye Shoes: 14 Fascinating Ways | Guide Patterns

  2. You can seal the color with stuff called MOD podge, which you apply w a paintbrush, or a clear weather proofing shoe spray and they will seal the color in in case it rains. 😊😊😊.

Leave a Reply

