Hummus and Spinach Melts

melts

I’ve got a confession to make.  While I enjoy cooking, I’m not particularly great at making myself consistently healthy meals.  To change this, I’ve been searching for quick, easy (and somewhat healthy) recipes to try out and came across this recipe for Hummus Melts which turned out great.  To save time I didn’t make my own hummus, but the shop-bought seemed to work pretty well.

IMG_2587

Ingredients:

  • A wholegrain bagel (the original uses an English muffin, but surprisingly we don’t actually have those in the UK)
  • Several handfuls of spinach
  • 1 cove of garlic (crushed)
  • Olive oil
  • Grated cheese (the original uses mozzarella, but the cheddar I used seemed to work nicely)

IMG_2592

IMG_2598

IMG_2600

It’s as simple as toasting a wholegrain bagel, sautéing some spinach in olive oil with a little garlic, topping with hummus and grated cheese and grilling in the oven until the cheese is melted and bubbly.

IMG_2610

IMG_2607

I even served it with some salad – aren’t I doing well?

4 thoughts on “Hummus and Spinach Melts

Leave a Reply

